A local minimum wage raise is coming for employees of the City of Petaluma. Effective Jan. 1, 2020, the hourly minimum wage rate for employers with 26 or more employees will be $15.00, and $14.00 for employers with fewer than 26 employees. By ordinance, the minimum wage must be adjusted annually, based on the Bay Area Consumer Price Index. This ordinance applies to all employees who work two or more hours per week in Petaluma and are covered by state minimum wage law. It doesn’t apply to federal, state or county agencies or school districts. A youth minimum wage rate applies to those who are ages 14 to 17 during the first 160 hours of employment in occupations new to them. If you have any questions, please contact your Linkenheimer CPA.
Some tax relief is available for California taxpayers affected by the frequent power shutoffs that plague the state. The CA Franchise Tax Board is advising taxpayers impacted by the safety-related power blackouts that began in October 2019 that they may be eligible for penalty relief if the penalties are due to the shutoffs. Taxpayers in impacted counties may request penalty abatement upon a showing of reasonable cause. For details, go to https://bit.ly/2PzCN9r and arrow down to “Extended deadlines.” If you have questions about how the shut offs may have affected you or your business with concerns related to tax payments or penalties, please contact your Linkenheimer CPA.
Some California Employers in Sonoma and Los Angeles Counties Get Extra Time for Tax Responsibilities
Some California employers in Sonoma and Los Angeles Counties get extra time for tax responsibilities, says the CA Employment Development Dept. (EDD). Those employers who were directly affected by the Kincade and Tick fires, which began on Oct. 23, may request up to a 60-day extension of time from the EDD to file their state payroll reports and deposit payroll taxes without penalty or interest. To get an extension, a written request from the employer must be received within 60 days from the original delinquent date of the payment or return. Please contact your Linkenheimer CPA with questions or for more info: https://bit.ly/331PygJ
A new California state website just went live, with new features. As the CA Franchise Tax Board announced not long ago, its new website went live on Sunday, June 23. The site focuses on tasks, instead of customer types (individuals, businesses, tax professionals). Now that the site is up and running, you may use it to request forms online. According to Frequently Asked Questions about the site, 95% of the content that was on the old website will still be there, but forms from before 2007 will be gone. Interested parties can obtain older forms through an online process. For more info: https://bit.ly/2F1PKjW
California grants disaster relief to certain employers. The CA Employment Development Dept. is giving affected employers extra time to file state payroll reports and to deposit state payroll taxes without penalty or interest. This applies to employers in Amador, Glenn, Lake, Mendocino and Sonoma Counties who were directly affected by storms that began on 2/25/19. These employers may request a 60-day extension of time to accomplish these tasks. Requests must be received within 60 days of the original payment or return due dates. If you have questions about this or other filing deadlines, please contact your Linkenheimer CPA. For details: https://bit.ly/2LyrD38
What’s new for 2018 California tax returns? The list of changes is long. That’s why the CA Franchise Tax Board has created a “Taxnews” page, with information about tax filing. The page includes information about credits such as the earned income credit, the new employment credit and the CA Competes credit, plus instructions for many other tax topics.
A few of the highlights include:
Federal Tax Reform
The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) signed into law on December 22, 2017, made changes to the Internal Revenue Code (IRC). In general, California Revenue and Taxation Code does not conform to the changes. California taxpayers continue to follow the IRC as of the specified date of January 1, 2015, with modifications. The IRS issued Notice 2019-11 to provide for a waiver of the estimated tax penalty for taxpayers whose 2018 federal income tax withholding and estimated tax payments fell short of their total tax liability for the year.
This relief is designed to help taxpayers who were unable to properly adjust their withholding and estimated tax payments to reflect an array of changes under the TCJA, the far-reaching tax reform law enacted in December 2017. For California purposes, the TJCA had no general impact to the […]
Tax relief is available for California employers in counties hit by recent wildfires. The CA Employment Development Dept. (EDD) has announced that employers in Butte, Los Angeles and Ventura counties directly affected by the Camp, Hill and Woolsey fires may request up to a 60-day extension of time from the EDD to file their state payroll reports and deposit state payroll taxes without penalty or interest. Written extension requests must be received within 60 days from the original delinquent date of the payment or return.
Due to a presidential disaster declaration, some victims of California’s recent wildfires may qualify for federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA). DUA provides temporary unemployment assistance to eligible individuals whose work or self-employment has been interrupted due to a major disaster and who also meet certain other conditions. This applies to losses in CA from the Camp, Hill, and Woolsey fires. Eligible persons may receive up to $450 per week for up to 27 weeks. The deadline to file is 12/14/18. If you have any questions, please contact your Linkenheimer CPA. For more info […]
We have had clients receive FTB notices with a much larger late filing penalty than it should be, despite being extended due to the fires. We spoke to the FTB, and they said that their system is not picking up the zip codes, and therefore notices are being issued with the late filing penalty. They suggest calling in and the account will be flagged to auto adjust once they fix their system (IT is updating their coding) but temporarily they are placing holds on those accounts after you call in. Please be aware of this and contact your Linkenheimer CPA if you get a notice and don’t just pay it, as this may complicate the adjustment process. We will keep you updated and let you know once the FTB has resolved the issue. In the meantime, if you have any questions, please contact us.
On April 4, 2016, Governor Jerry Brown signed a bill into law that will increase California’s minimum wage rate to $15 per hour by 2022. This Employment Law Summary provides an overview of this law how it will be phased-in over the next several years: